Eastbourne Liberal Jewish Community - בית חברים

Services

Our services are held at the Christ the King (CTK) Catholic Church hall, 3 Princes Road (on the Langney roundabout), Eastbourne, East Sussex BN23 6HS and at Alice Croft House (ACH), Cornfield Lane, Eastbourne, BN21 4NE.

Please refer to the list below for the times and locations of services. 

Services are led by Rabbi Roberta Harris-Eckstein or our lay leaders. We use the Liberal Judaism prayer book "Siddur Lev Chadash" which is in English and Hebrew and we have transliterations available for those who wish to follow the Hebrew parts of the service.

Visitors - we ask that all visitors to our services respect our Liberal Jewish traditions and practices. 

The hall at CTK is fully disabled-accessible with disabled toilet facilities and a free car park with step-free access.

2019 Services, Festivals and Events


Saturday 12th January - Shabbat Morning Service - 11.30 am, CTK, led by Rabbi Roberta Harris-Eckstein, plus Beginners' Hebrew at 10.00 am.

Monday 21st January - Festival of Tu B'Shvat (New Year for Trees)

Thursday 24th January - Holocaust Memorial Day Commemoration at Eastbourne Town Hall - time TBC

Friday 25th January - Erev Shabbat Service - including HMD Commemoration - 6.30 pm, CTK, leader TBC

Saturday 9th February - Shabbat Morning Service, 11.30 am, CTK - leader TBC

Friday 22nd February - Erev Shabbat Service, 6.30 pm, CTK, leader TBC

Saturday 9th March - Shabbat Morning Service, 11.30 am, CTK, led by Rabbi Roberta Harris-Eckstein

Thursday 21st March - Festival of Purim

Friday 22nd March - Erev Shabbat Service with a Purim theme, 6.30pm, CTK, leader/s TBC

Saturday 13th April - Shabbat Morning Service, 11.30 am, CTK, leader TBC

Friday 19th April - ELJC Communal Passover Seder, 6.00 pm, CTK, leader/s TBC

Saturday 20th April - First day of Passover