Services

Our services in 2017 will be held at the Christ the King Catholic church hall, 3 Princes Road (on the Langney roundabout), Eastbourne, East Sussex BN23 6HS and at Alice Croft House, Cornfield Lane, Eastbourne, BN21 4NE.

Please refer to the list below for the times and locations of services. 

Our services are led by student rabbis, visiting rabbis and lay leaders and there are always many opportunities for congregation participation from those who wish to do so. The services are in a mixture of English and Hebrew (with transliteration available) and are dignified but informal.

The hall at CTK is fully disabled-accessible with disabled toilet facilities and a free car park with step-free access.

HIGH HOLYDAYS SERVICES

We welcome visitors to all our services but, please note that non-member and non-associate visitors to ELJC's High Holydays services will require a ticket.  A ticket for all four services costs 25.  Please contact Angela Jay (phone 01323 725650 or email eljcommunity@gmail.com) before attending.


Wednesday 20th September - Erev Rosh Hashanah service, 6.30 pm, CTK led by Student Rabbi Roberta Harris.

Thursday 21st September - Rosh Hashanah morning service, 12.30 pm CTK led by Student Rabbi Roberta Harris.

Friday 22nd September - No service

Sunday 24th September - Tashlich on the Beach service, 11.00am led by members of the community.  Meet by the RNLI Museum on Eastbourne sea front.

Friday 29th September - Kol Nidre service, 6.30 pm, CTK led by Student Rabbi Roberta Harris.

Saturday 30th September - Yom Kippur morning service 12.30 pm, and memorial service/concluding service 2.50 pm, led by Student Rabbi Roberta Harris at CTK.  Finish time expected to be 3.30 pm.


Saturday 7th October - Shabbat morning service with Sukkot theme, 12.30 pm, CTK, leader TBC

Sunday 15th October - AGM, Alice Croft House, 11.00

Friday 27th October - Erev Shabbat service, 6.30 pm, CTK

Saturday 11th November - Shabbat morning service, 12.30 pm, CTK, led by Student Rabbi Roberta Harris

Friday 24th November - Erev Shabbat service, 6.30 pm, CTK

Saturday 9th December - Shabbat morning service, 12.30 pm, CTK, led by Student Rabbi Roberta Harris

We are currently working on our 2018 Services Schedule - watch this space!